Donation in an earthquake area

 

Together with our wonderful host Shahram we made 140 children of a school near Sarpol happy with new clothes

Kouick Majid, just outside Sarpol, is one of five “Kouick Villages” that were almost completely destroyed during the November 2017 earthquake, with the highest death toll percentage of  150 people out of just over 1000 inhabitants. The image of the entire region and especially Sarpols is characterized by ruins. Throughout the city, every third plot of land is either completely empty or there are iron flukes sticking out of the ground. These represent the remnants of those houses that have become uninhabitable due to the earthquake.

Our host family, like any other in the city, was badly affected by the disaster. Almost every member of the family suffered material damage but, miraculously, no one had died in the immediate family. The majority had lost entire houses or their home was so damaged in their statics that they preferred to sleep in containers in front of their homes. Especially the 80 years old mother of our host preferred to sleep in front of the house in a container. She had been lucky in the quake of magnitude 7.3 and survived physically unscathed on the third floor of her house, which had lost almost all the walls. Her concern was not unfounded. Only 2 days before our arrival, there had been another quake of magnitude 5.3. We were told that on average every two weeks there is a noticeable quake. However, this experience was spared during our time on the ground.

The catastrophe, which took place less than a year and a half ago that day in November, was still omnipresent, leaving us with an unreal feeling. Everyone had returned to their everyday life and apart from us nobody seemed to pay much attention to the countless construction sites, tents and containers that dominate the cityscape. The economic problems of the country, caused by the American and European sanctions, which drove the depreciation of the Rial into absurdity, further intensify the already difficult financial expenditure, Shahram told us. They are the reason why most of the reconstruction work is done by the local population and it will take a long time until the cityscape returns to its former beauty.

So much for the background of the last donation.

On Wednesday last week we visited the Loghman School for the first time and discussed with the teachers in what form we could do some good for the children. With some media attention for the small village that was at the center of the disaster, the school was well stocked with school supplies and we were told that many children lacked clothing.

So the next day we went in search of said clothes in the 70,000-inhabitant town of Sarpol. We searched the small shops of the shopping streets, as we had set the goal to support the local salesmen. It turned out to be a real challenge to procure shoes, jackets or sweaters of the same quality and model in the quantities that we needed to be able to provide an entire school. For logistical reasons, we assigned one type of clothing to every two grades. At a total of six stores, we managed to get everything together. For the first and second grade we bought jackets, for the third and fourth shoes and for the fifth and sixth sweaters. Most of the stores made at least the biggest sales of the month, if not the year, with Travel for Smiles, and it made us very happy to support a few more people in this way.

Loaded with around 50 shoeboxes and three huge bags of sweaters and jackets, we arrived back at the school on Saturday afternoon. Together with the director we ran from class to class and distributed what we had brought. To our amazement everything was very well organized, which was probably the effect of being in a  classroom. The kids waited patiently until they were called and we tried our best to guess their size. There was a cheerful mood and a few giggles accompanied the distribution.

For € 687.27 we bought 140 pieces of clothing.

Shahram was a great help throughout the process. He helped us negotiate with the salesmen, drove us around, and translated diligently with his fluent English. Frank (not his real name but he asked us to call him that 😊) also supported us energetically. He’s also the one that took the photos during the distribution and he also occasionally took the role of interpreter.

Translation to english by Mila T. <3

 

3 thoughts on “Donation in an earthquake area

  1. Hi Dominik and Luka, greetings from SW France and thanks for your report from western Iran and the great work you have done for the school in Sarpol. I showed it to two Iranian refugee friends here who were visiting this weekend. Keep up your good work and good luck on the next stage of your journey . 🙂

    1. Hey Simon, thank you so much that you showed our blog to your iranian friends! Maybe we can meet them, when we visit in summer? 😉 Hope you are doing great and sorry for the late response :3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Spende im Erdbebengebiet

Zusammen mit unserem wunderbaren Host Shahram haben wir in der Nähe von Sarpol 140 Kindern einer Schule eine Freude mit neuer Kleidung gemacht

Kouick Majid, etwas außerhalb Sarpols, ist eines der fünf „Kouick Dörfer“. Während des Erdbebens im November 2017 wurde das kleine Dorf nahezu komplett zerstört und hatte die größte prozentuale Todesrate von 150 Menschen auf etwas mehr als 1000 Einwohner. Das Bild der gesamten Region und insbesondere Sarpols ist von Ruinen geprägt. In der gesamten Stadt ist jedes dritte Grundstück entweder komplett leer gefegt oder es ragen Eisengerippe aus dem Boden. Diese stellen die Überbleibsel jener Häuser dar, welche aufgrund des Bebens unbewohnbar geworden sind.

Auch unsere Gastfamilie, so wie jede Andere der Stadt, war schwer von der Katastrophe betroffen. Nahezu jedes Familienmitglied hatte materiellen Schaden zu beklagen aber wie durch ein Wunder war niemand im näheren Familienkreis gestorben. Der Großteil hatte ganze Häuser verloren oder ihr Zuhause war in solch einem Maße in seiner Statik beschädigt, dass sie lieber in Containern vor Ihren Häusern schliefen. Gerade die an die 80 Jahre grenzende Mutter unseres Gastgebers bevorzugte es vor dem Haus in einem Container die Nacht zu verbringen. Sie hatte bei dem Beben der Stärke 7,3 großes Glück gehabt und im dritten Stock ihres Hauses, dass so gut wie alle Wände verloren hatte, körperlich unbeschadet überlebt. Ihre Sorge war nicht unbegründet. Nur 2 Tage vor unserer Ankunft hatte es wieder ein Beben der Stärke 5,3 gegeben. Man erzählte uns, dass es im Schnitt alle 2 Wochen ein spürbares Beben gibt. Dieses Erlebnis wurde uns jedoch während unserer Zeit vor Ort erspart.

Die Katastrophe, welche sich vor weniger als anderthalb Jahren an jenem Tag im November abgespielt hatte, war noch immer allgegenwärtig und hinterließ uns mit einem unwirklichen Gefühl. Das Leben war zum Alltag zurückgekehrt und außer uns schien niemand mehr besonderes Augenmerk auf die unzähligen Baustellen, Zelte und Container zu werfen, die das Stadtbild dominieren. Die ökonomischen Probleme des Landes, verursacht durch die amerikanischen und europäischen Sanktionen, die den Wertverfall des Rial ins Absurde getrieben haben, verstärken den ohnehin schon schwer zu stemmenden finanziellen Aufwand weiter, erzählte uns Shahram. Sie sind der Grund, warum die meisten Wiederaufbauarbeiten von der lokalen Bevölkerung in Eigenregie unternommen werden und auch daher noch eine lange Zeit vergehen wird, bis das Stadtbild wieder zu seiner einstigen Schönheit zurückfindet.

So viel zum Hintergrund der letzten Spende.

Am Mittwoch letzter Woche besuchten wir das erste Mal die Loghman Schule und berieten uns mit den Lehrern in Welcher Form wir den Kindern etwas Gutes tun könnten. Da eine gewisse mediale Aufmerksamkeit für das kleine Dorf geherrscht hatte, das im Zentrum der Katastrophe lag, war die Schule gut mit Schulmaterialien ausgestattet und wir wurden darauf verwiesen, dass es vielen Kindern an Kleidung mangele.

Also machten wir uns am nächsten Tag in dem 70000 Einwohner Städtchen Sarpol auf die Suche nach besagten Klamotten. Wir suchten die kleinen Läden der Einkaufsstraßen ab, da wir uns zum Ziel gesetzt hatten, durch unseren Einkauf auch die lokalen Händler zu unterstützen. Es entpuppte sich als echte Herausforderung, Schuhe, Jacken oder Pullover in Ansatzweise gleicher Qualität und Modell in den Mengen zu beschaffen, die uns die Aufgabe, eine ganze Schule zu versorgen, stellte. Aus logistischen Gründen teilten wir jeweils zwei Stufen einen Typ Kleidung zu. Bei insgesamt sechs Läden wurden wir dann fündig. Für die erste und zweite Klasse kauften wir Jacken, für die dritte und vierte Schuhe und für die fünfte und sechste Pullover. Der Großteil der Läden machte mit Travel for Smiles mindestens den größten Umsatz des Monats, wenn nicht sogar des Jahres, was uns sehr freute auch auf diesem Wege ein paar mehr Menschen zu unterstützen.

Beladen mit rund 50 Schuhkartons und drei riesigen Säcken Pullovern und Jacken trafen wir am Samstagmittag dann wieder in der Schule ein. Zusammen mit dem Direktor liefen wir von Klasse zu Klasse und verteilten was wir mitgebracht hatten. Es lief zu unserer Verwunderung alles sehr geordnet ab, was wohl der Rahmen des Klassenzimmers mit sich brachte. Die Kinder warteten brav bis sie aufgerufen wurden und wir versuchten unser Bestes ihre Größe zu erahnen. Es herrschte heitere Stimmung und einzelnes Gekicher begleitete die Verteilung.

Für 687,27€ kauften wir 140 Kleidungsstücke.

Shahram war uns eine Große Hilfe während des gesamten Prozesses. Er half uns mit den Händlern zu verhandeln, fuhr uns kreuz und quer, und übersetzte fleißig mit seinem fließenden Englisch. Auch Frank (nicht sein richtiger Name aber er bat uns ihn so zu nennen 😊) stand uns Tatkräftig zur Seite. Von ihm sind auch die Fotos während der Verteilung und auch er nahm gelegentlich die Rolle des Dolmetschers ein.

3 thoughts on “Spende im Erdbebengebiet

  1. Hi Dominik and Luka, greetings from SW France and thanks for your report from western Iran and the great work you have done for the school in Sarpol. I showed it to two Iranian refugee friends here who were visiting this weekend. Keep up your good work and good luck on the next stage of your journey . 🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>